Lemon Laws

Lemon Laws

Maryland Lemon Law

Every state has its own Lemon Law.  Lemon Laws require vehicle manufacturers to either replace or repurchase a defective vehicles after a reasonable number of repair attempts have been made, or to compensate the consumer for the lost value in their vehicle as a result of the many repair attempts.  What may be considered a reasonable number of repair attempts varies depending on the state the consumer resides in.  The State of Marylandoffers protection to the purchaser of any passenger car or truck within the first 15 months or 15,000 miles, which ever occurs first.  However, in the situation where a consumer has leased a defective vehicle the limitation period is only 12 months or 12,000 miles.    

To qualify as a lemon in the State of Maryland, your vehicle must:

  • undergo at least four repair attempts for the same defect within 15 months from the date of delivery or 15,000 miles or 12 months or 12,000 miles for leased vehicles; or
  • undergo at least one repair attempt in the braking or steering system within 15 months from the date of delivery or 15,000 miles or 12 months or 12,000 miles for leased vehicles; or
  • be out of service due to repairs for a total of 30 or more calendar days within 15 months from the date of delivery or 15,000 miles or 12 months or 12,000 miles for leased vehicles.

Should you feel your vehicle qualifies for a claim under the Maryland Lemon Law, contact an attorney to help you determine your rights.

Are you driving a lemon in Maryland?  Contact our office for a free case review.