Utah Statute of Limitations on Debt Collection
“Statute of limitations” is a complex concept that has varying applications across different law sectors and states. For debt collection, the statute of limitations is the limited amount of time that debt collectors can seek legal help with collecting an unpaid debt that is owed to them. Once the statute of limitations has expired, the debt is time-barred and debt collectors can no longer sue debtors over the unpaid debt. Debt collectors can, however, still continue to attempt to collect the unpaid debt indefinitely.
If you are a Utah resident with unpaid debt, it’s important to understand Utah statute of limitations and debt laws and statutes of limitations in case you are contacted by a debt collector.
In Utah, the statute of limitations for any signed written contract, obligation or liability is 6 years. For unwritten (verbal) contracts, obligations, or liabilities, the statute of limitation for an unpaid debt expires after 4 years. Unpaid debt from open accounts for goods, wares, merchandise, and services rendered or for the price of any article charged on a store account has a statute of limitation of 4 years, after which debt collectors can no longer utilize the legal system to recover the debt.
The statutes of limitations for debt collection in Utah can be very tricky because certain actions can restart the clock on the time a debt collector has to sue a debtor. A written acknowledgement signed by the debtor revives the statute of limitations.
For more information on Utah Statute of Limitations on debt collection and for help navigating Utah’s debt laws, do not hesitate to contact SmithMarco, P.C. here or call 888-822-1777 for a free consultation.