Kansas Lemon Law
When buying a vehicle, on of the most important considerations is: what are you going to do if the vehicle breaks down and has problems? Will you be protected? The type and duration of the warranty that is provided with the vehicle is the key. If your new vehicle breaks down, you will want as much protection from a warranty so you don’t have to pay for repairs. Moreover, the longer the warranty lasts, the better off you may be. A warranty on a vehicle is a promoise to repair any defect at no charge.
If you find your new vehicle has to undergo many attempts to repair it, your vehicle may be covered by lemon laws. Each state has its own lemon law. Each lemon law varies as to how many repairs a vehicle must undergo in order to qualify, how long a period of time after purchase the defects appear, and the time a vehicle is out of service for the owner. In Kansas, your new vehicle may be a lemon if :
- It takes 4 or more attempts to repair a particular defect during the term of the warranty or 1 year, whichever occurs first, or
- The vehicle is out of service for a total of 30 days or more for reason of repair, or
- There have been a total of 10 or more attempts at any defect.
Are you driving a lemon in Kansas? Contact our office for a free case review.