<li class=””><a class=”” href=”/lemon-laws/lemon-laws-in-your-state/”>Lemon Laws in Your State</a></li>
Maine Lemon Law
Lemon Laws are state laws that provide for protections to consumers that purchase a new vehicle. While it may apply to a used vehicle as long as it is still under warranty, most often, lemon laws deal with new vehicles. There is also the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act that is a federal law. This law applies to all vehicles and other products under warranty. If your vehicle, while under warranty, is subjected to multiple repair attempts, then you may be entitled to recovery.
While you may obtain a new vehicle or a refund, many of these matters resolve by the payment of money to the consumer to make up for the lost value of the vehicle due to the defects. Main has its own lemon law that is helpful to consumers.
To qualify as a lemon in the State of Maine, your vehicle must:
>undergo at least three repair attempts for the same defect within two years from the date of delivery or 18,000 miles; or
>be out of service due to repairs for a total of 15 or more business days within two years from the date of delivery or 18,000 miles.
Should you feel your vehicle qualifies for a claim under the Maine Lemon Law, contact an attorney to help you determine your rights.
Are you driving a lemon in Maine? Contact our office for a free case review.