Arkansas Statute of Limitations on Debt Collection
Consumers being sued by a collection agency should be aware of the statute of limitations for a breach of contract. In Arkansas, written contracts have a statute of limitations of 5 years. However, if a consumer is convinced to make a payment by a collector, the statute of limitation period begins anew as a partial payment or written acknowledgement of default of the debt tolls this statute of limitations (A.C.A. 16-56-111).
Most cases filed against consumers for unpaid debts are filed as 'breach of contract' claims. Thus, a consumer concerned about a collector suit, must be aware of the statute of limitations in a breach of contract action. In Arkansas, contracts not in writing have a statute of limitations of 3 years (A.C.A. 16- 56-105).
Debts incurred for medical services have a statute of limitations of 2 years from the date the service(s) was rendered or from the date in which the most partial payment was made (A.C.A. §16-56-106). Prior to entering into an agreement to pay off a debt, a consumer should ensure the debt is actually still due and payable.
SmithMarco, P.C. has experienced attorneys available for any further Arkansas Statute of Limitations questions. Please call us at 888-822-1777 or contact us here for a free consultation.
Free Case Review
Thank you for contacting us for a free case review. We know how important this matter is, and we intend to give it the proper attention. Please provide as much information as possible as the more information we have, the more we will understand your situation and how to help you. Remember, an attorney will be reviewing your submission, so be confident that the information you provide us will be kept strictly confidential.